Seventeenth Century
Eighteenth Century
Luminarium Encyclopedia
Restoration and Eighteenth Century Renaissance English Literature (1660-1785)
Everdingen: The Four Muses with Pegasus.

Introduction  |  Samuel Butler |  John Dryden |  Samuel Pepys | John Bunyan |  Aphra Behn
John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester | Anne Kingsmill Finch, Countess of Winchilsea | Mary Astell
William Congreve |  Matthew Prior |  Daniel Defoe | John Gay | Lady Mary Wortley Montagu
Jonathan Swift |  Joseph Addison |  Sir Richard Steele |  James Thomson |  Alexander Pope
Dr. Samuel Johnson |  Thomas Gray | William Collins | Christopher Smart | Oliver Goldsmith
George Crabbe | William Cowper | James Boswell |  Essays and Articles | Additional Sources

1996-2011 Anniina Jokinen. All Rights Reserved. Created May 10, 2002. Last updated August 21, 2011.
"Introduction" is copyright © 1998, W. W. Norton & Company; it is a link to Norton Topics Online.
Art: Caesar van Everdingen: The Four Muses with Pegasus, c. 1650. Huis ten Bosch, The Hague.